

State of New Jersey

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES PO Box 705 TRENTON, NJ 08625-0705

CHRIS CHRISTIE
Governor

DIVISION OF DISABILITY SERVICES

ELIZABETH CONNOLLY

ACTING Commissioner

JOSEPH M. AMOROSO

Director

KIM GUADAGNO Lt. Governor

July 24, 2017

Dear PPP Participant:

The Division of Disability Services' records indicate that you are a participant in the NJ Personal Preference Program (PPP) receiving more than 40 hours of Personal Care Assistance (PCA) services per week.

It is important for you to know that PPP policy prevents certain PCA employees from working over 40 hours per week. This means that you must either: (1) hire more than one PCA to provide care, or (2) use only PCAs that qualify for the Live-in Exemption under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act.

Public Partnerships has- configured its payroll system to allow only live-in PCAs to work over the maximum allowable 40 hours per week. A live-in employee is defined as one who "resides on the employer's premises either permanently or for extended periods of time."

- Employer's premises means the household where employed.
- Permanently, or extended periods of time means the employee lives, works, and sleeps in the household where employed for at least five (5) days a week (120 hours) or more.

Please complete the enclosed Live in Exemption form and return it to PPL, so that your workers' payroll can be adjusted. A separate form is required for each PCA employee who works over 40 hours per week.

PPP participants must comply with this policy in order to remain eligible for program enrollment.

Please call (609) 631-2494 or toll free 1-888-285-3036 with any questions.

Sincerely

oseph M. Amoroso

frector

PCG Public Partnerships New Jersey PPP Program

Phone: 1-844-880-8702 TTY: 1-800-360-5899

Paperwork Fax: 1.844.627.6834

Paperwork E-mail: nippp@pcgus.com



Fair Labor Standards Act **Live-In Exemption Form**

The United States Department of Labor (US DOL), Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), requires household employers to pay employees overtime pay for hours worked over 40 per workweek unless the employee qualifies for an exemption. Use this form to notify PCG Public Partnerships if the employee qualifies for the live-in exemption from overtime pay. You may also use this form to revoke the exemption when the employee no longer qualifies for the exemption.

Participant/Employer Name:	7		Participant/Employer I	D:
PCA/Employee Name:		i.	PCA/Employee ID:	
STEP 1: DETERMINE IF THE EMPLOYEE QUALIFIES FOR THE LIVE-IN EXEMPTION FROM OVERTIME PAY				
 The live-in exemption is: Available only in programs where the participant or their representative is the sole employer under the FLSA; Applies only to the employer/employee pair based on the "Residency Test" (below); and Applies to all services provided by the employee for that employer. 				
Residency Test A live-in employee is exempt from overtime premium pay if the employee "resides on the employer's premises either permanently or for extended periods of time". "Employer's premises" means the household where employed. "Permanently", or "extended periods of time" means the employee lives, works, and sleeps in the household where employed for at least five (5) days a week (120 hours) or more.				
STEP 2: CERTIFY THE EMPLOYEE'S ELIGIBILITY FOR THE LIVE-IN EXEMPTION FROM OVERTIME PAY				
Please check one box below to identify whether or not the employee qualifies for the live-in exemption. YES, the employee qualifies for the live-in exemption. NO, the employee does not qualify for the live-in exemption.				
 If the employee qualifies for the live-in exemption: All hours, including overtime (over 40 hours per workweek), will be paid at regular rates for all services once Public Partnerships receives this form and enters the information in our payroll system. 				
STEP 3: SIGN AND AUTHORIZE				
Participant/Employer	Date A	Attendant/	Employee	Date
By signing, we understand that it is our responsibility to inform PCG Public Partnerships when the employee no longer lives with the employer. Both parties must sign to claim the exemption. Only the employer must sign to revoke the exemption.				

tax exclusion. The DOC income exclusion may also qualify employees for a refund of state income taxes. Employees do not need to request a corrected W-2 to request a tax refund. To learn more, visit: http://www.irs.gov/Individuals/Certain-Medicaid-Waiver-Payments-May-Be-Excludable-From-Income

IMPORTANT: Live-In providers of Medicaid waiver services may be eligible for the IRS Difficulty of Care (DOC) federal income

SUBMIT COMPLETED FORM: Fax to: 1.844.627.6834 or Scan and E-mail to: njppp@pcgus.com